

## FOUNDER

Glenn D. Paige (1928-2017)

## HONORARY SPONSORS

**Máiread Maguire** (N. Ireland) Nobel Peace Laureate (1976)

**Óscar Arias** (Costa Rica) Nobel Peace Laureate (1987)

J. E. Aristizábal "Juanes" (Colombia) Grammy-winning singer and activist

Federico Mayor Zaragoza (Spain) Former Director-General, UNESCO

**Neelakanta Radhakrishnan** (India) Founder, Council of Gandhian Studies

**Bernard Lafayette, Jr.** (USA) Activist leader, Civil Rights Movement

**Ilya Prigogine**, in memoriam (Russia) Nobel Chemistry Laureate (1977)

Robert Muller, in memoriam (Belgium) Co-Founder, UN University for Peace

## **GOVERNING COUNCIL**

Anoop Swarup (India) Chaiwat Satha-Anand (Thailand) Glenda H. Paige (Hawaii) Bill (Balwant) Bhaneja (Canada) Ha'aheo Guanson (Hawaii) Jose V. Abueva (Philippines) Christina Kemmer (Hawaii) Maorong Jiang (China/USA)

DIRECTOR Joám Evans Pin (Galiza, Spain)

UN REPRESENTATIVES Christophe Barbey (Geneva) +41 79 524 35 74 / cb@apred.ch Winnie Wang (New York)

CONTACTS www.nonkilling.org info@nonkilling.org 3653 Tantalus Drive Honolulu, Hawai'i 96822-5033 United States Human Rights Council Item 6. UPR of Turkmenistan Geneva, 20<sup>th</sup> of September 2018

Mister (Vice-)President, Dear Human Beings, Excellency's, Dear delegation of Turkmenistan, Ladies and Gentlemen, Dear webcasters,

Good Morning,

It is with great pleasure that we note that the recommendations made to Turkmenistan for the ratification of the genocide and the enforced disappearances conventions have been accepted by Turkmenistan. Similar ones had been noted in the previous cycle.

As this is the  $70^{\text{th}}$  anniversary of the genocide convention, we hope that these ratifications will be made before or on the  $9^{\text{th}}$  of December this year, for the anniversary date.

We also wish to thank the delegations of Armenia and of Uruguay for persistently making these recommendations in the second and third cycles of the UPR.

We are kindly waiting for the confirmation of these ratifications.

Dear delegations, In dignity and freedom, we thank you for your efforts and progresses.

Thank you Mister (Vice-) President.